Assam Textile Institute, the only pioneer institute in the entire north-eastern region in the field of textile was established in 1920. Formerly known as Assam Weaving Institute, the Assam Textile Institute was the dream child of Late Raibahadur Kanaklal Barua. The Institute was set up with a support to the Anti British Movement by refusal of foreign textiles and to make Assam self dependent in textile production.

Since inception, the Institute has gone through numerous changes and the present position of the institute cannot be denied by any textile industry in India. Number of passed out students from this Institute now hold responsible and distinguished portfolio in the field of textile. The fame even spread abroad as some of the passed out students of the Institute have established themselves as responsible technocrats in different countries.

For all round development of this premier institute, formation of an Alumni Association was always felt in need specially to provide feed back to the next generation students of the institute. Due to rapid change of customer’s taste and for cut throat competition of the textile manufacturers, the change in the part of technology of textile manufacturing is also inevitable. These rapid changes can be provided to the next generation students by the established technocrats only. With the objectives of providing purely educational support through feed back from different field of textiles, the first Alumni Association of Assam Textile Institute was formed on with an executive body.

Executive Body

Chief Advisor
Sri Ram Chandra Das


  1. Rabindranath Sarma
  2. Kalyan Bahagawati
  3. Harihar Kalita
  4. Jiten Goswami
  5. Ashok Kr. Das
  6. Tanmai Das

Sri Prashanta Kr. Bhuyan

Vice President

  1. Gitish Brahma
  2. Jayanta Kr. Das
  3. Prabin Sarma
  4. Nila Lr. Singha

General Secretary
Dr. Jayanta Deva Sarma

Joint Secretary

  1. Gopi Kt. Thakuria
  2. Rabul Saikia

Rabin Khataniar

Publicity Secretary
Niranjan Lahon

Organising Secretary
Chitraban Sarma

Executive Members

  1. Anu Devi. Ramani Das
  2. Bidyut Dutta
  3. Satish BhattaCharya
  4. Fazlul Haque
  5. Chandan Das
  6. Mrinal Nath
  7. Mantu Das
  8. Apurba Baishya
  9. Satyen Nath
  10. Ghanashyam Deka
  11. Anjali Patowary
  12. Jadumoni Das
  13. Rahul Singh